Minister of Provincial Affairs and Environment, Hon. G. Dawe Minister of Fisheries, and Minister responsible for Intergovernmental Affairs, Hon. J.C. Crosbie Minister of Tourism, Hon. T.V. Hickey Minister of Mines and Energy, Hon. Leo Barry

Minister of Rural Development, Hon. J. Reid Minister of Forestry and Agriculture, Hon. Harold Collins Minister without portfolio, Hon. William Marshall Minister of Rehabilitation and Recreation, Hon. T. Doyle.

3.3.1.2 Prince Edward Island

The government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The present Lieutenant Governor is the Honourable Gordon L. Bennett, appointed effective October 24, 1974. The Legislative Assembly has 32 members from 16 electoral districts who may serve for a statutory term not exceeding five years. Each district elects two representatives to the Legislature. The 53rd Assembly elected April 29, 1974 consisted of 26 Liberals and six Progressive Conservatives; as at December 31, 1974 party standings had changed to 25 Liberals and six Progressive Conservatives with one seat vacant.

A member of the Assembly receives \$7,000 per annum and an additional \$3,500 tax-free for travelling and other expenses incurred in attending sessions and representing his district. In addition the Premier receives a salary of \$24,000, a Cabinet Minister \$14,500 and a Minister without portfolio \$14,500. The Speaker of the Assembly is paid an additional indemnity of \$2,000 and his tax-free allowance is increased by \$1,000; higher sessional indemnities and allowances are also available to the Deputy Speaker in the amounts of \$1,000 and \$500, respectively, and to the Leader of the Opposition in the amount of \$10,000. All indemnities and allowances accrue from the date of election to the legislature and are paid monthly. No sessional indemnity or expenses are paid for any special session of the Legislature.

The Executive Council of Prince Edward Island as at December 31, 1974

Premier, President of the Executive Council, Minister of Justice and Attorney and Advocate General, Hon. Alexander B. Campbell Minister of Finance and Minister responsible for Cultural Affairs, Hon. T. Earle Hickey

Minister of Development and Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. John H. Maloney Minister of Public Works and Highways, Hon.

Bruce L. Stewart Provincial Secretary and Minister of Education, Hon. Bennett Campbell Minister of Community Services and Minister of the Environment and Tourism, Hon. Gilbert Clements

Minister of Health and Minister of Social Services, Hon. Catherine Callbeck

Minister of Fisheries and Minister of Labour, Hon. George Henderson

Minister of Agriculture and Forestry, Hon. A.E. Ings.

3.3.1.3 Nova Scotia

The government of Nova Scotia consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. Since October 1, 1973 the Honourable Clarence L. Gosse has been Lieutenant Governor. The Legislature has 46 members elected for a maximum term of five years. On April 2, 1974, 31 Liberals, 12 Progressive Conservatives and three New Democrats were elected to the province's 51st Legislature and 28th since Confederation.

Each member of the House of Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$9,600 and an annual expense allowance of \$4,800. In addition to the amounts to which they are entitled under the House of Assembly Act, the Premier of the province receives an annual salary of \$25,000, all other Cabinet members \$21,000 or such lesser salary as the Governor in Council may determine, the Leader of the Opposition \$21,000, the Speaker \$11,000, the Deputy Speaker \$3,500, and any member occupying the recognized position of leader of a recognized party other than the Premier and Leader of the Opposition \$6,000.

The Executive Council of Nova Scotia as at January 1975

Premier, President of the Executive Council and Chairman of the Nova Scotia Power Commission, Hon. Gerald A. Regan Minister of Finance and Chairman of the Treasury Board, Hon. Peter M. Nicholson

Provincial Secretary, Minister of Recreation and Minister in charge of administration of the Residential Tenancies Act, Hon. A. Garnet Brown